Negaunee Public Schools

                                                                                               October 20, 2008


Minutes of the Regular Meeting, of the Board of Education, Negaunee Public Schools, City of Negaunee, County of Marquette, and State of Michigan, held on October 20, 2008, at Negaunee High School.


Members Present: Fae Collins, Dan Hintsala, Osmond T. Kemp, Virginia Paulson, Martin Renaldi, Dave Rice, and Martin Saari


Member Absent:     None


Administrators Present:

James Derocher, Superintendent

Bob Bonetti, High School Principal

Dan Skewis, Middle School Principal

Joe Meyskens, Lakeview Elementary School Principal

Mary Kay Johnson, Administrative Aide for Finance

Julie Dompierre, Recording Secretary


255.     The meeting was called to order by President Martin Renaldi at 7:00 p.m. 


256.     A quorum of the board was established.


257.     Motion by V. Paulson, supported by O. Kemp, to approve the agenda with the following addition:  Item 265 New Business, I. Closed Session - Negotiations.  Motion carried 7-0. 


258.     Public Comment:


      Ben Collins, a Representative from Pieper Electric, Inc., introduced himself to the Board and stated he was available for any questions the members had concerning the solar panel bid submitted by Pieper Electric, Inc.


259.     Motion by D. Rice, supported by F. Collins, to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on September 15, 2008.  Motion carried 7-0.


260.     Motion by M. Saari, supported by D. Hintsala, to approve the consent items as presented.  Motion carried 7-0.     


261.     Payment of Bills and Financial Reports


A.        Motion by F. Collins, supported by M. Saari, to approve the payment of bills totaling $404,965.91.  Motion carried 7-0.


B.             The Financial Report was presented by the Administrative Aide for Finance, Mary Kay Johnson. 


262.     A written report was received from the Community Education Director.  Oral reports were received from Bob Bonetti, High School Principal, Dan Skewis, Middle School Principal, Joe Meyskens, Lakeview Elementary School, and Superintendent Derocher.


263.       Correspondence - None


264.       Old Business - None


265.       New Business:


A.        The Board was informed, by Superintendent Derocher, that all of the annual reports for the district have been filed per Public Act 25.  The reports have also been filed with Marquette Alger Regional Education Service Agency.  No action necessary.


B.        Motion by D. Rice, supported by V. Paulson, to name River Valley Bank as a financial depository for the School District and to invest $3.5 million with River Valley Bank until June 1, 2009.  Motion carried 7-0.


C.        Motion by D. Hintsala, supported by M. Saari, to award the bid of solar panels to Pieper Electric, Inc., in the amount of $96,284, contingent on Integrated Designs structural review process.  Motion carried 6-0 and F. Collins abstained her vote.


D.         Motion by V. Paulson, supported by D. Rice, to award the rental bid of snow removal equipment to Fabco in the amount of $7,300 for the 4 months rental of a front-end loader.  This agreement includes 200 service meter hours.  Hours over the 200 hours would be invoiced at $36.50 each.  Motion carried 7-0.


  E.          Motion by F. Collins, supported by D. Hintsala, to add the Food Service Director to the approved list of positions authorized to use the school districtÕs charge cards.  Motion carried 7-0.                  


F.          Superintendent Derocher informed the Board that the fall unaudited student full time equivalency enrollment is at 1,454.25 students.  No action necessary.


G.         Motion by F. Collins, supported by V. Paulson, to approve the posting to hire an Instructional Aide for the Young FiveÕs program for the remainder of the 2008-09 school year.  Motion carried 7-0.


H.        Motion by D. Rice, supported by O. Kemp, to approve the following Schedule B positions:


Boys Basketball:

            Varsity            Head               Mike OÕDonnell

Junior Varsity Head    Kevin Jacobson

                                    9th Head                      Jeff Niemi

                                    8th  Head                      Marius Grazulis

                                    7th Head                       Kyle Saari

                                    Varsity Volunteer        Louis Koskey

                                                                        John Argall


Girls Basketball:

            Varsity Head               Gregg Nelson

                                    Junior Varsity Head    Tori Sager

                                    9th  Head                      Bryon Nelson             



            Head                            Andy Skewis

                                    Assistant                     Joe Wahlman              

                                    Volunteers                   Jim Skewis     

                                                                        Ryan Jarvi



            Head                            Eyre Becker    

                                    Assistant                     Kaitlin Pietila  




            Head                            Amy Pringle                                       

                                    Assistant                     Maryann Johnson

                                    Middle School             Sarah Hicks

Volunteers                   Kim Hicks & Leslie Hicks     



            Head Coach                 Fred Dick

                                    Assistant                     Perry Wooden

                                    Volunteer                    Colin Kerry


                        Motion carried 7-0.    


At this juncture, President Renaldi requested that the agenda order be changed and allow for item number 32 Public Comments to be next.


I.          Motion by D. Hintsala, supported by O. Kemp, to move into closed session at 8:19 p.m. to discuss negotiations with the Negaunee Educational Association.  Motion carried 7-0.


President Renaldi moved back into open session at 8:30 p.m


266.           Public Comment – None


267            Other Business - None


268.           President Renaldi adjourned the meeting at 8:33 p.m.





_______________________________          ________________________________

         Martin Renaldi, President                                   Virginia Paulson, Secretary