Negaunee Public Schools

October 19, 2009


Minutes of the Regular Meeting, of the Board of Education, Negaunee Public Schools, City of Negaunee, County of Marquette, and State of Michigan, held on October 19, 2009, at the Negaunee High School.


Members Present: Fae Collins, Dan Hintsala, Virginia Paulson, Martin Renaldi, Dave

Rice, Martin Saari, and Susan Wideman

Members Absent: None


Administrators Present:

James Derocher, Superintendent

Bob Bonetti, High School Principal

Dan Skewis, Middle School Principal

Julie Peterson, Lakeview Elementary School Principal

Mary Kay Johnson, Administrative Aide for Finance

Julie Dompierre, Recording Secretary


157.     The meeting was called to order by President Dave Rice at 7:00 p.m.


158.     A quorum of the board was established.


159. Motion by V. Paulson, supported by F. Collins, to approve the agenda with the following addition: 162. Consent Items, B. Health Coordinator’s Report. Motion carried 7-0.


160.     Public Comment:


            Diane Faust, SHINE Coordinator, reviewed the sales from the Clothing Resale Program. She stated that over $15,000 was earned and 100 individuals were allowed to shop for free after the sale ended.


            RayAnn Loy, Middle School Teacher, said she had attended the Reading Conference and said she was proud with the way Negaunee was represented at the Conference. She also thanked Virginia Paulson and Fae Collins for attending the football tailgate party even if the weather had not cooperated.


161.    Motion by M. Renaldi, supported by S. Wideman, to approve the regular Board meeting minutes held on September 21, 2009. Motion carried 7-0.


162.     Motion by M. Saari, supported by D. Hintsala, to approve the consent items as presented. Motion carried 7-0.


163.     Payment of Bills and Financial Reports


A.        Motion by M. Renaldi, supported by S. Wideman, to approve the payment of bills totaling $492,857.35. Motion carried 7-0.


B.        Received the Financial Report from the Administrative Aide for Finance, Mary Kay Johnson.


164.     Written reports were received from the Community Education Director and Health Coordinator. Oral reports were received from Bob Bonetti, High School Principal, Dan Skewis, Middle School Principal, Julie Peterson, Lakeview Elementary School Principal, and Superintendent Derocher.


165.     Correspondence:


            President Rice stated he had received a letter from the Middle School teachers.


166.     Old Business - none


167.     New Business:


A.            Per PA 25 Superintendent Derocher presented, for the Board and public’s review, the Annual Reports for the Negauanee Public Schools. He stated that these reports were also sent to MARESA. A brief discussion followed. No action necessary.


B.      Motion by M. Renaldi, supported by M. Saari, to accept the recommendation of the USWA Negotiation Committee to extend the current contract of the United Steelworkers Local 4950 until June 30, 2010. Motion carried 7-0.


            C.        Motion by V. Paulson, supported by F. Collins, to approve the following self-supporting field trip requests:


Š    Fourth grade classes to Clear Lake Education Center

Š    Negaunee High School Symphonic Band to New York

Š    High School Choral group to see the play Les Misarables

                   Motion carried 7-0.


            D.        Motion by F. Collins, supported by D. Hintsala, to hire Suzanne Swanson to the 15 hour per week Title VII Instructional Aide position. Motion carried 7-0.       


           E.          Motion by D. Hintsala, supported by V. Paulson, to approve the following winter Schedule B Appointments (cont.):

Boys Basketball:         Varsity            Head               Mike O’Donnell         

                                    Junior Varsity Head    Kevin Jacobson

                                    9th Grade Head            Jeff Niemi

                                    8th Grade Head            Kyle Saari

                                    7th Grade Head            Pete Weaver

Girls Basketball:          Varsity Head               Gregg Nelson

                                    Junior Varsity Head    Tori Sager

                                    9th Grade Head            Bobbi Ayotte

Wrestling                     Head                            Joe Wahlman                                                  Assistant                     Pete Ruokola

Gymnastics                 Head                            Eyre Becker

                                    Assistant                     Bill Ellerbruch

                                    Volunteer                    Kaitlin Pietila

Cheerleading               Head                            Amy Pringle

                                    Assistant                     Maryann Johnson

                                    Middle School             Sarah Hicks

                                    Volunteers                   Kim Hicks

                                                                        Leslie Hicks

                                                                        Kelsey Niemisto

Hockey                        Head                            Fred Dick

                                    Assistant                     Perry Wooden

                                    Volunteer                    Colin Kerry


Motion carried 7-0.


F.         Superintendent Derocher informed the Board he had received a resignation letter from Marius Grazuils, eighth grade boy’s basketball coach. No action necessary.


G.        Superintendent Derocher discussed the fall 2009-10 enrollment numbers. No action necessary.


H.        Motion by M. Renaldi, supported by M. Saari, to approve the rental of snow removal equipment from Fabco. The four month rental agreement includes 200 service meter hours at a cost of $7,300. Hours over the 200 would be invoiced at $36.50 each. Motion carried 7-0.


168.  Public Comment - none



169.  Other Business- none



170. President Rice adjourned the meeting at 8:10 p.m.






_______________________________          ________________________________

                 Dave Rice, President                                  Fae Collins, Secretary